DSC_2372 copy

Lane gets the Win and the 2017 CRA Street Stocks Championship at Winchester Speedway

Salem, IN (October 11, 2017) – The Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS 2017 season came to an end on Sunday on the famous High Banks of Winchester Speedway, a day later than scheduled, thanks to Saturday night’s rain showers. When all was said and done, Colby Lane not only came away with the win in the series Championship 50 lap feature, but also won the 2017 Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Championship in the series first season of using the Championship Chase format.


“Wow, what a way to end this crazy season,” remarked Lane in victory lane. “We had a great car here in August for the 200 and had it won when we had the rear end break right at the end. It really felt good to get the win today and claim my first CRA Championship. I have to thank my Mom, my Dad and my wife for all their support. Also my crew and fans, without their support we wouldn’t be a winner today and the Champions. We had a lot of ups and downs this season, but we stuck with it and got the Championship!”


Champion Chase competitor Thomas Skiles jumped to the early lead from his outside pole starting position after Allstar Performance Fast Qualifier Jason Thompson drew a five for the invert, while pole sitter Lane settled behind Skiles. Mason Keller quickly worked his way to the front and passed Skiles on lap 11 for the lead. Keller looked like he might get his first win of the 2017 season, but his window net came down, forcing officials to black flag him for safety reasons, giving the lead to Lane on lap 25, who had worked his way to second and was closing on Keller.


Over the final laps, Champion Chase contenders Lane, J.J. Schafer and Skiles were the top three cars in a classic battle for the win and the 2017 Championship, but in the end no one could catch Lane who got the win by almost a half second, getting the Drivers’ Championship for himself and the Owners Championship for his dad Jeff. Colby Lane joins his dad as a Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Drivers Champion, Jeff Lane was the series 2011 Drivers Champion. It is the first series Owners Championship for Jeff Lane. Lane picked up a $250 Winners Bonus from Van Hoy Oil in getting his first series win of the season.


Schafer would finish in second, Skiles in third. Danny Adams would finish in fourth place with Josh Poore in fifth. The fourth Championship Chase final four contender Andrew Teepe had mechanical issues that limited him to only completing 42 laps with a 18th place finish. Tory Lutz finished the season up as the series 2017 Rookie of the Year, he also had an early exit on Sunday after only completing 27 laps.


Ben Delong picked up the Van Hoy Oil Hardcharger Award, after coming from his 30th starting position to finish 17th. Bill Ashton was awarded the Van Hoy Oil Furthest Traveler Bonus, Ashton came all the way from Hopwood, Pennsylvania to race in Sunday’s event.


The next event for the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks will be the 2017 CRA Awards Banquet which will take place on Friday, January 5th in Indianapolis at the Crowne Plaza Downtown at Union Station. The 2017 Champions and the top ten in final series points for each CRA Series will be honored that night.


For more information on all the CRA series go to www.cra-racing.com.