CRA Street Stock Five Crown Series Event Number Two at Mt. Lawn Speedway Sunday Afternoon

First Event at Mt. Lawn Since 2010


Salem, IN (May 2, 2018) – The Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will have their second event of the 2018 season this Sunday’s at Mt. Lawn Speedway, located in New Castle, Indiana. Sunday’s Bob Fields Memorial 200 will be the second event of the 2018 Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stock Five Crown Series, that will feature five 200 lap, $3000 minimum to win events. The first event was the series season opener at Shadybowl Speedway on April 21st, were Brett Hudson took the dominating win. The other three events in the newly expanded Five Crown series will be at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 16th, at Kentucky Motor Speedway on Sunday, July 15th and the Five Crown Series Championship event, which will be at Winchester Speedway on Sunday, August 5th.


The CRA Street Stocks had a very popular Triple Crown Series from 2014 through 2016 with the events at Shadybowl Speedway, Kentucky Motor Speedway and Anderson Speedway. That series was expanded to the Four Crown Series for 2017 with the addition of the 200 lap event at Winchester Speedway. Chuck Barnes Jr. was the 2017 Four Crown Series Champion, winning at Shadybowl, Kentucky and Winchester. Brett Hudson won the Four Crown event at Anderson. Hudson was the Triple Crown Series Champion in 2016, while Jason Atkinson won the Triple Crown Series Championship in 2014 and 2015.


In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the five events who will receive a $1000 bonus. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all five events. Each of the Five Crown Series events except Winchester will be 4 tire races, all five will have a break at lap 100 to add fuel and make adjustments. Each Five Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.


Sunday’s race is the second race in the CRA Street Stocks “Road to Bristol”, Sunday’s winner and second place finishers will have a guaranteed start at the Short Track U. S. Nationals presented by Vore’s Welding at Bristol Motor Speedway in the CRA Street Stock A Feature. Hudson and second place Jake McElfresh have guaranteed starting spots from their finishes at Shadybowl, provided they compete in Sunday’s race at Mt. Lawn, both are on the entry list for Sunday’s race. CRA recently announced that the top four teams in owner points after the Mt. Lawn event will also have guaranteed starting spots in the Bristol CRA Street Stock A Feature. Hudson leads the series points heading into Sunday, McElfresh is in second.


Sunday’s Bob Fields Memorial 200 will be the first series event at Mt. Lawn Speedway since July 17th, 2010 were local driver Jason Atkinson took the win. In all there have been five series events total at Mt. Lawn, other winners include Joe Beaver with two wins, including the series’ first ever event at Mt. Lawn in 2006 as well as Jeff Lane and Jason Thompson with one win a piece. Atkinson, Lane and Thompson are all entered for Sunday’s event. Other top CRA drivers entered include New Castle’s own Brian Hopkins and Ryan Amonett, Jimmy and James Kirby III, Kevin Claborn, Josh Lank, Calvin Parham, Larry and Nathan Green, Phil Jenkins, Danny Adams, Justin Oberlin, J.J. Schafer, Jason Drummond, and Andrew Teepe.


To date, an additional $1300 in bonus cash has been posted by several Mt. Lawn drivers.  LJ Lines, Ellis Herbert, Jeff Lane, Mike Stone, Rick Rhonemus, Alex Burke, Brandon Mefford in memory of his father William and Bill Hinshaw in memory of his son Scott are among the drivers who have made this possible. The lap awards will be given out on specially designated laps and designated positions on those laps.  The detailed list of these bonuses will be announced prior to the event.


There is an open practice scheduled for Saturday from 12noon until dusk. Pit Gates open on Sunday at 10am. Practice is set to begin at 11:30am with qualifying starting at 1:20pm. The race program will begin at 3pm and will include the Bob Fields Memorial 200 for the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks. Also in action will be the Mt. Lawn Pro Compacts, Stock Compacts, Thunder Cars and Cage Karts.


More event and track information is available at


For more information on Champion Racing Association and the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks visit